tg

­

About tg

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far tg has created 2 blog entries.

Voluntary activity: Eyesurgery Training

Saving eyesight together in Kampala

With great joy, I returned to the Mengo hospital in Kampala, Uganda for another week of voluntary training in eye surgery. It was here during my first stay in October 2016 where I could support the great local team performing some complicated procedures. At the same time, I could help Dr. Ludo, the eye specialist at the hospital in Kampala with macular surgery.

Augenabteilung Klnik

Still in Austria, I could solicit from my colleagues several surgical instruments as donations, which I brought to the Mengo hospital. Also, I was able to arrange for a retinal laser on loan to be used during my stay. Fortunately, I had found out in time that the Mengo hospital still does not have such a device yet.  Using this laser, the detachment of the retina and resulting blindness of the patients can be prevented. As a result, it facilitates the necessary surgical care significantly.

Eingang Augen Klinik

When I arrived at the clinic, Dr. Ludo, the other doctors, and the nursing staff welcomed me warmly. Some of them were already working here during my last stay, and I was delighted to meet them again.

Assistent Augenärztin

Dr. Ludo wants gradually to retire from the hospital, so one of my most important tasks in the next few days would be to train the young specialist, Dr. Dan as her successor in retinal surgery.

Monday morning, we started and selected ten patients for an operation. Since this time, my visit had been announced much longer in advance, the planning of the local team worked perfectly, and we could start our work without any major loss of time.

As always, I thoroughly examined the patients before surgery. Unfortunately, we found one patient with high blood pressure, which could not be controlled even with medication. Because an operation under such a circumstance is far too risky, I had to cancel his surgery.

Most cases are very delicate because many are already totally blind in one eye and can see only very poorly with the remaining eye. This is why it is particularly important to preserve the eyesight of the remaining eye. Therefore, I performed the majority of the operations myself, but with the alternating assistance by Dr. Ludo and Dr. Dan, who thereby could advance their knowledge.

Augen Gerät check

From Tuesday to Friday we conducted the operations all day long which was very strenuous for all of us, but also a very enriching experience. During this time, we also deepened our personal contact and had a lot of fun together.

In the operating room of the Mengo hospital, conditions are rather unusual for us. During my first stay, I had experienced these already, but in the meantime almost forgotten about them.

The equipment had been considerably improved since my first stay, and my back was very grateful for the better chairs for the surgeon. They offer much better comfort during lengthy operations and cause less fatigue.

Augen Hygiene

 

For patients, the new ergonomic operating chair is a great improvement, because, during the operation, patients are less uncomfortable than before.  Unfortunately, I could see this new chair only from a distance because for reasons unknown to me they were used just for cataract surgeries which don’t last very long. But who knows, maybe there will be a surprise next time.

Although the two doctors mainly assisted me during the procedures, the feedback was very positive. We discussed in detail individual cases and the surgical options during and after the surgery. I noticed with joy that the “Teaching Effect” was substantial.

Together we were able to successfully treat some very severe cases and save people from total blindness:

Four patients came with retinal detachments respectively recurring retinal detachments. We were able to successfully treat these patients with vitrectomy, laser and subsequent tamponade.

One patient had a severe diabetic tractional retinal detachment of the center, two patients had macular holes, and one patient had a persistent vitreous hemorrhage and possible retinal defect following a trauma.

The case of one patient was particularly dramatic. While working with a hammer and chisel, he got injured with a perforation of his bulbous and a fairly large intraocular foreign body. Fortunately, we were able to remove it successfully and could save his eye.

 

fremdkoerper-auge

Still during my stay, I was able to get initial feedback from our patients during the follow-up, and I am very proud that the results were very nice. I will follow their postoperative development from a distance because I then can address any further upcoming questions and can continue to observe the recovery process.

After completing this exhausting but rewarding stay, I was especially pleased when I was asked to continue to act as a “Mentor on a Regularly Basis”. The medical achievements, as well as the personal contact with colleagues and patients, make me proud and I am pleased that I could help with my feedback and my assistance with some severe cases to save precious eyesight.

Augen Arzt Team

Voluntary Surgical Training for Retinal Problems

Tagada, small incisions and new friends

Surgical training in the Mengo Clinic, Kampala/Uganda

friends

The Mengo Hospital in the capital city of Kampala has a history of 120 years and is not only the oldest clinic in Uganda, but in all East Africa.

The clinic has been founded in 1897 by Sir Dr. Albert Ruskin Cook, a British physician and missionary. After a trip to Uganda he was fascinated by the country and its people and decided to dedicate his whole life to their medical education.

Together with his wife Katherine he also founded the first midwife training center in Uganda and in 1907 his nephew Ernest brought the first x-ray machine in East Africa to the Mengo Clinic – sensational in those days.

mengo-alt

The tradition to aim for the most advanced medical equipment in Uganda, a country with a population of almost 40 million, is still alive today. The ophthalmic division has several specialized outpatient departments and orthoptist’s practice.

In addition, they have four experienced surgeons for cataract, eyelid and glaucoma surgery. Another surgeon was trained in retinal and vitreous body surgery by an international fellowship. The equipment available for retinal surgery includes only the most necessary items, but they have a good microscope and surgical instruments.

Surgical Training for Retinal problems

In recent years, instruments and operation techniques have been further developed, particularly in the field of retinal surgery. In October 2016 I had the opportunity to introduce these new technologies and my experience to the Mengo Hospital for a week on a voluntary basis.

One of my major concerns was to introduce Dr. Ljubo, the local specialist, to macular surgery and to support her in treating several particularly difficult retinal cases. I also succeeded to bring six “small incision packages” and several Instruments at no cost.

Chirurgie Training

The preparations for my stay in Kampala were rather stressful. Particularly the obligatory vaccinations and the gathering of necessary documents and recommendation letters for obtaining the license to work as a surgeon in Uganda required a lot of time and patience. I believe the requirement of  such a license is very reasonable – despite all the hassles involved – because it  ensures proper treatment and care on a high level and prevents surgical tourism by unexperienced surgeons.

The journey went as planned and also the suitcase containing the surgical equipment passed customs without too much delay, thanks to the confirmation letter from the Mengo Clinic.

airport-uganda

What I learned right upon arrival:
Sometimes you have to make a detour to arrive faster at your destination.

Traffic in Kampala is much worse than at home. Especially in the morning and afternoon traffic jams regularly cripple entire roads in this city of 1.3 million inhabitants. The roads are filled with mainly Japanese made cars and many motorbikes with two or even three persons riding on them, mostly without helmets.

Uganda Motorrad

The drive to the hotel was a rather bumpy one because the driver chose less busy side streets to avoid the traffic and we got a good shake. After the drive I felt as if I had done a few tagada rides in an amusement park.

 

tagada fahrt

Monday morning I was picked up by an employee of the clinic. My first day in Mango Clinic started with a tour of the ophthalmic department and the introduction of employees and colleagues. I was welcomed most cordially and with great expectations as “the doctor we have been waiting for”. But before I could meet these expectations with my expertise, my blond hair was the attraction of the day.

Mengo Hospital

Dr. Ljubo, the retinal colleague with whom I performed examinations and eye surgery over the following days, is a cheerful and young-at-heart 50-year-old lady who supports her whole family. While she is working very hard, her family takes care of the household, so she can concentrate on her work.

Soon after the introduction Dr. Ljubo and I started examining patients with macular and retinal diseases and decided on necessary operations.

Augenuntersuchung

After that I visited the operating room and inspected the equipment. The microscope and surgical device were very familiar and met our standards. The patient table, however, resembled more a metal plank bed.

All procedures were performed under local anaesthesia, but the patients were extremely cooperative despite the less than comfortable bedding.

My operation chair was some kind of office chair with limited adjustability for height, but after a while I got used to it. I was very pleased that the hygienic procedures were on a high level. This is reflected by the low infection rate in that department. All members of the surgical staff were well trained.

I noticed the engagement and enthusiasm of the surgical nurses who welcomed the “small incision” instruments and other new items.

Over the following three days I performed a total of six retinal operations and vitrectomies (as in phakic or pseudo phakic patients with retinal detachment, vitreous hemorrhage or macular diseases). Dr. Ljubo assisted me with all patients. Furthermore, I assisted her with two patients with macular holes. For two patients, I performed a combined cataract and retinal operation. We worked with endolaser and silicone oil tamponade, did membrane peelings and performed mainly 23-gauge but also 20-gauge vitrectomies.

 

Augen OP

Two of our patients were so-called “one eyed patients” with severe retinal detachments in their good eye. They were urgently included to preserve their eyesight. These patients were already nearly blind and had to be escorted to the clinic. One patient came in a few days later for a follow-up examination and gratefully reported that he had come alone to the clinic without any help of an escort. These wonderful moments lend meaning to what I am doing and I am very grateful that I am allowed to help people to preserve their precious eyesight.

We managed to perform two to three retinal operations per day, encountering more or less severe difficulties, like old and frail equipment, missing of usually available items and other minor obstacles. The packages I had brought along functioned perfectly and we could work successfully with the seamless small incision systems (23-gauge instruments).

For lunch they always cooked, and we ate our meals sitting on the floor of a room next to the operating room. In the evening we were deservedly tired because the eye operations were strenuous and we did not take many breaks. On the third day, while sterilizing the instruments between two operations, we noticed a soft sound of snoring. A surgical assistant had dozed off in a corner of the room and was awakened only by our laughter.

I am optimistic that Dr. Ljubo will treat patients with macular diseases by herself. She is a very skilled surgeon which I realized during procedures in the anterior segment of the eye.

Operation Augen Chirurgie-Training

 

The post operative control examinations I did went as I had wished for. The patients had no discomfort, looked fine and were extremely grateful. I could also advise the patients on proper behavior and further therapies.

Communication was mostly unproblematic, because almost everyone speaks English, the second official language of Uganda besides Swahili.

I really enjoyed the very pleasant atmosphere in the ophthalmic department and felt cordially welcome from the first moment on and during my entire stay.

Friday afternoon, I finally said goodbye to the whole team and promised to come back with more equipment, if everything went according to plan.

While spending time and operating, I got several helpful ideas for improvements, which will benefit the ophthalmic department and its patients.

Danke Augentraining

In summary, the week in Kampala was very strenuous and challenging, but it brought also many gratifying moments I would not want to miss. This stay has enriched me not only professionally but also personally. And it has brought new friends into my life.

Chirurgie Training Augen

tg

­

About tg

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far tg has created 2 blog entries.

Ehrenamtliche Augenchirurgie

Gemeinsam Augenlicht retten in Kampala

Mit großer Freude kam ich für eine weitere Woche an das Mengo Hospital in Kampala, Uganda für ein ehrenamtliches Training zur Augenchirurgie zurück. Hier durfte ich bei meinem ersten Aufenthalt im Oktober 2016 das großartige Team vor Ort bei einigen komplizierten Eingriffen unterstützen und gleichzeitig Frau Dr. Ludo, der Augen-Spezialistin am Krankenhaus in Kampala bei der Makulachirurgie helfen.

Augenabteilung Klnik

Noch in Österreich konnte ich bei meinen Kollegen einige chirurgische Instrumente als Spenden erbitten, die ich in das Mengo Hospital mitbrachte. Zusätzlich ist es mir gelungen, einen Netzhautlaser leihweise für die Zeit meines Aufenthaltes zu organisieren. Zum Glück habe ich rechtzeitig erfahren, dass in der Mengo Klinik noch kein solches Gerät vorhanden ist. Mit dem Laser kann eine Ablösung der Netzhaut und so das Erblinden des Patienten verhindert werden. Dadurch wird die notwendige chirurgische Versorgung wesentlich erleichtert.

Eingang Augen Klinik

Als ich in der Klinik eintraf, wurde ich von Frau Dr. Ludo, den anderen Ärzten und dem Pflegepersonal herzlich begrüßt. Einige von ihnen waren schon bei meinem letzten Aufenthalt hier im Haus tätig und ich freute mich sehr darüber, sie wieder zu treffen.

Assistent Augenärztin

Frau Dr. Ludo möchte sich langsam aus dem Krankenhaus zurückziehen, daher wird in den nächsten Tagen eine meiner wichtigsten Aufgaben sein, den jungen Facharzt Dr. Dan als ihren Nachfolger in der Netzhautchirurgie auszubilden.

Am Montag Früh ging es los: Zehn PatientInnen wurden im Vorfeld für eine Operation ausgewählt. Da mein Besuch diesmal wesentlich länger im Voraus angekündigt war, hat auch die Planung durch das Team vor Ort hervorragend geklappt und wir konntne ohne großen Zeitverlust sogleich an die Arbeit gehen.

Wie immer untersuchte ich die Patienten vor der Operation gründlich. Dabei stellt sich leider heraus, dass ein Patient einen viel zu hohen Blutdruck hatte, der auch mit Medikamenten nicht zu beherrschen ist. Weil der Eingriff unter solchen Umständen viel zu riskant ist musste ich leider seine Operation absagen.

Die meisten Fälle sind sehr heikel, denn die Menschen sind auf einem Auge bereits vollkommen blind und können mit dem verbleibenden Auge nur noch sehr schlecht sehen. Daher ist es besonders wichtig, die Sehkraft auf dem verbleibenden Auge zu erhalten. Ich führte deshalb den Großteil der Eingriffe selbst durch, jedoch unter wechselnder Assistenz von Dr. Ludo und Dr. Dan, die so ihr Wissen erweitern können.

Augen Gerät check

Von Dienstag bis Freitag führten wir den ganzen Tag die Operationen durch – eine sehr anstrengende – aber für uns alle auch eine sehr bereichernde Zeit, in der auch der persönliche Kontakt und der Humor nicht zu kurz kamen.

Im Operationssaal in der Mengo Klinik herrschen für uns eher ungewöhnliche Bedingungen – ich hatte sie bei meinem ersten Aufenthalt zwar kennengelernt – aber in der Zwischenzeit fast wieder vergessen.

Die Ausstattung wurde seit meinem ersten Aufenthalt jedoch wesentlich verbessert: Mein Rücken war sehr dankbar für die besseren Operationsstühle, auf denen man als Chirurg während der langen Eingriffe viel besser sitzt und nicht mehr so schnell ermüdet.

Augen Hygiene

Für die Patienten ist die neue ergonomisch wunderbare Liege eine große Verbesserung, denn nun liegen sie während der der Operation nicht mehr so unbequem wie vorher. Leider durfte ich diese Liege nur von der Ferne betrachten, da sie aus mir unerklärlichen Gründen nur für die „zeitlich kurz dauernden“ Kataraktoperationen verwendet wurden. Aber wer weiß, vielleicht gibt es eine Überraschung beim nächsten Mal.

Obwohl mir die beiden Ärzte während der Eingriffe hauptsächlich assistierten, war das Feedback sehr gut. Wir besprachen die einzelnen Fälle und die chirurgischen Möglichkeiten während und nach der durchgeführten Operation ausführlich. Ich stellte mit Freude fest, dass der „Teaching Effect” sehr groß war.

So konnten wir gemeinsam einige sehr schwere Fälle erfolgreich behandeln und die Menschen vor dem völligen Erblinden bewahren:

Vier Patienten kamen mit Netzhauthabebungen bzw. Netzhautwiederabhebungen. Diese Patienten konnten wir erfolgreich mit Vitrektomie, Laser und anschließender Tamponade behandeln.

Eine Patientin kam mit einer schweren zentralen diabetischen traktiven Netzhautabhebung, zwei weitere mit Makulaforamen sowie ein Patienten nach einem Trauma mit persistierender Glaskörperblutung und fraglichem Netzhautdefekt.

Besonders dramatisch war der Fall eines Patienten, der sich bei der Arbeit mit Hammer und Meisel einen ziemlich großen intraokulärem Fremdkörper nach perforierender Bulbusverletzung zugezogen hatte. Zum Glück konnten wir diesen erfolgreich entfernen und das Auge retten.

fremdkoerper-auge

Noch während meines Aufenthaltes konnte ich ein erstes Feedback unserer Patienten bei den Nachuntersuchungen erhalten und bin sehr stolz, dass die Ergebnisse sehr schön sind. Ich werde ihren postoperativen Verlauf auch aus der Ferne weiter verfolgen, denn so kann ich eventuelle weitere Fragen klären und den Genesungsprozess weiter beobachten.

Nach dem Ende dieses anstrengenden, aber bereichernden Aufenthaltes habe ich mich ganz besonders darüber gefreut, dass ich gebeten wurde, auch in Zukunft als “Mentor on a Regularly Base” zu fungieren. Die medizinischen Erfolge sowie der persönliche Kontakt zu Kollegen und Patienten machen mich stolz und ich freue mich sehr, dass ich durch mein Feedback und meine Hilfe bei schwierigen Fällen helfen konnte kostbares Augenlicht zu retten.

Augen Arzt Team

Ehrenamtliches Chirurgie-Training für Netzhautprobleme

Tagada, kleine Schnitte und neue Freunde

Chirurgie-Training in Mengo Klinik, Kampala / Uganda

friends

Das Mengo Hospital in der Hauptstadt Kampala ist mit 120 Jahren nicht nur das älteste Spital Ugandas, sondern sogar das älteste in ganz Ostafrika.

Die Klinik wurde 1897 von Sir Dr. Albert Ruskin Cook, einem britischen Mediziner und Missionar gegründet, der nach einer Uganda-Reise – fasziniert von Menschen und Land – beschloss sein ganzes Leben der medizinischen Ausbildung der hiesigen Bevölkerung zu widmen.

Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Katherine gründete er auch die erste Hebammenschule in Uganda und sein Neffe Ernest brachte 1907 – damals eine aufsehenerregende Sensation – das erste Röntgengerät nach Ostafrika, hierher in das Mengo Hospital.

mengo-alt

Diese Tradition, die möglichst modernste medizinische Ausstattung in Uganda, einem Land mit fast 40 Millionen Einwohnern, zu haben, setzt sich heute noch fort. Die Augenabteilung verfügt über mehrere Spezialambulanzen und eine Sehschule.

Weiters gibt es vier erfahrene Chirurgen für Katarakt-, Lid- und Glaukomchirurgie. Eine weitere Chirurgin wurde durch ein internationales Fellowship auch auf dem Gebiet der Netzhaut- und Glaskörperchirurgie ausgebildet. Das vorhandene Equipment für die Netzhautchirurgie beinhaltet zwar nur die nötigsten Utensilien, doch ein gutes Mikroskop und Operationsgerät sind vorhanden.

Surgical Training for Retinal problems

Nachdem in den letzten Jahren die Instrumente und Techniken gerade auf dem Gebiet der Netzhautchirurgie stark weiterentwickelt wurden, hatte ich im Oktober 2016 die Gelegenheit neue Technologien und meine Erfahrung eine Woche lang ehrenamtlich am Mengo Hospital einzubringen.

Es war mir ein großes Anliegen Dr. Ljubo, der Spezialistin vor Ort, die Makulachirurgie näher zu bringen und sie bei einigen besonders schwierigen Netzhautfällen zu unterstützen. Weiteres gelang es mir auch sechs „Kleinschnittpackages“ und einige Instrumente kostenfrei mitzubringen.

Chirurgie Training

Die Vorbereitungen für meinen Aufenthalt in Kampala waren sehr anstrengend. Besonders die nötigen Impfungen und die Zusammenstellung der notwendigen Dokumente und Empfehlungsschreiben für die Lizenz, um als Chirurgin in Uganda arbeiten zu können, benötigten viel Zeit und noch mehr Geduld. Eine solche Lizenz halte ich jedoch – trotz aller Mühen – für sehr vernünftig, da sie eine adäquate Behandlung und Versorgung auf hohem Niveau gewährleistet und so Operationstourismus von unerfahrenen Chirurgen verhindert werden kann.

Die Anreise verlief wie geplant, und auch der Koffer mit dem chirurgischen Equipment passierte, dank dem Bestätigungsschreiben des Mengo Hospitals, den Zoll ohne größere Wartezeiten.

airport-uganda

Was ich dann gleich bei der Ankunft gelernt habe:
Manchmal muss man Umwege nehmen, um schneller ans Ziel zu kommen.

Der Verkehr in Kampala ist deutlich schlimmer als bei uns. Vor allem in der Früh und nachmittags kommt es regelmäßig zu einem Stau in der Stadt mit ihren 1,3 Millionen Einwohnern, der ganze Straßen lahmlegt. Neben vorwiegend japanischen Automarken sind viele Motorräder unterwegs, meist mit zwei oder sogar drei Personen besetzt und Helme auf den Köpfen sind die Ausnahme, die man sehr selten sieht. 

Uganda Motorrad

Unsere Fahrt zum Hotel verlief recht holprig, nachdem der Fahrer – um dem großen Verkehr zu entgehen – weniger befahrene Seitenstraßen gewählt hatte, die uns dafür ordentlich durchschüttelten. Nach der Autofahrt fühlte ich mich, als wäre ich einige Runden Tagada in einem Freizeitpark gefahren.

tagada fahrt

Am Montag Früh wurde ich von einem Klinikmitarbeiter abgeholt. Mein erster Tag im Mengo Hospital begann mit einer Führung durch die Augenabteilung und die Vorstellung der Mitarbeiter und Kollegen. Ich wurde äußert herzlich mit „die Ärztin, auf die wir gewartet haben” und voller Erwartung begrüßt. Bevor ich überhaupt mit meinem Fachwissen den Erwartungen entsprechen konnte, waren meine blonden Haare die Attraktion des Tages.

Mengo Hospital

Dr. Ljubo, die Netzhautkollegin, mit der ich in den nächsten Tagen die Untersuchungen und Augenoperationen durchführte, ist eine sehr fröhliche und junggebliebene 50-Jährige, die ihre ganze Familie ernährt. Nachdem sie sehr viel arbeitet, übernimmt Ihre Familie den Haushalt, sodass sie sich auf die Arbeit konzentrieren kann. 

Sogleich nach der Vorstellung begannen Dr. Ljubo und ich, Patienten mit Makulaerkrankungen und Netzhauterkrankungen zu untersuchen. Hierbei wurde dann auch die Entscheidung für notwendige Operationen getroffen. 

Augenuntersuchung

Im Anschluss besichtigte ich den Operationssaal und das Equipment. Das Mikroskop und das Operationsgerät waren mir gut bekannt und entsprachen auch unseren Standards. Die Patientenliege aber erinnerte eher an eine Pritsche aus Metall.

Obwohl alle Eingriffe in örtlicher Betäubung durchgeführt wurden, waren die Patienten trotz mittelbequemer Lagerung äußerst kooperativ.

Mein Operationssessel war ein Art Schreibtischstuhl und nicht gut höhenverstellbar, aber ich gewöhnte mich mit der Zeit daran. Die Hygienemaßnahmen sind dafür auf hohem Niveau, was mich sehr freute und auch die sehr geringe Infektionsrate der Abteilung wiederspiegelt. Das gesamte Operationspersonal ist bestens ausgebildet.

Besonders positiv fielen mir das Engagement und die Begeisterungsfähigkeit der chirurgischen Schwestern auf, die die Kleinschnittinstrumente und die neuen Utensilien sehr begrüßten.

Insgesamt führte ich an den folgenden drei Tagen sechs Netzhautoperationen, Vitrektomien, (wie z. B. bei phaken oder pseudophaken Patienten mit Netzhautabhebung, Glaskörperblutung oder Makulaerkrankung) durch. Dr. Lubjo assistierte mir bei allen Patienten. Weiters assistierte ich Ihr bei zwei Patienten mit Makulaforamen. Bei zwei weiteren Patienten führte ich einen kombinierte Katarakt-Operation und Netzhautoperation durch. Wir arbeiteten mit Endolaser und Silikonöltamponaden, machten Membranpeelings und führten vorwiegend 23-Gauge Vitrektomien, aber auch 20- Gauge Vitrektomien, durch.

Augen OP

Zwei von unseren Patienten waren sogenannte „einäugige Patienten“, mit schweren Netzhautabhebungen am besseren Auge. Diese wurden akut eingeschoben, da es hier um die Erhaltung ihres Sehvermögens ging. Die Patienten waren schon beinahe blind und mussten von Begleitpersonen in die Klinik geführt werden. Als einer der Patienten einige Tage nach der Operation zur Untersuchung kam, berichtete er voller Dankbarkeit, dass er alleine gekommen sei, also nicht mehr geführt werden musste. Diese wunderbaren Momente geben meinem Tun einen Sinn und ich bin sehr dankbar, dass ich Menschen helfen darf Ihr kostbares Augenlicht zu erhalten.

Pro Tag schafften wir 2 bis 3 Netzhautoperationen mit mehr oder weniger großen Schwierigkeiten, wie zum Beispiel gebrechlichem älterem Equipment, Fehlen von bei uns üblichen Utensilien und anderen kleineren Hürden. Die mitgebrachten Packages hingegen funktionierten einwandfrei, wir konnten erfolgreich mit den nahtlosen Kleinschnittsystemen (23 Gauge Instrumenten) arbeiten.

Zu Mittag wurde immer gekocht und wir nahmen unser Mittagessen gleich vor Ort am Boden sitzend im OP-Vorraum ein. Nachdem wir nicht viele Pausen machten und die Augenoperationen anstrengend waren, waren wir am Abend verdient müde. Am dritten Tag, beim Sterilisieren der Instrumente zwischen zwei Operationen, wurden wir auf ein leises Schnarchen aufmerksam. Ein OP-Gehilfe war in einer Ecke des Raumes eingenickt. Und wurde erst durch unser Lachen geweckt.

Ich bin optimistisch, dass Dr. Ljubo in Zukunft einige Patienten mit Makulaerkrankungen auch selbst operativ versorgen wird. Sie ist eine sehr geschickte Chirurgin, was ich auch bei Eingriffen im Bereich des vorderen Augenabschnittes feststellen konnte.

Operation Augen Chirurgie-Training

Die von mir durchgeführten postoperativen Patientenkontrollen verliefen wie gewünscht. Die Patienten waren beschwerdefrei, sahen gut aus und waren überaus dankbar. Ich konnte den Patienten auch Verhaltensmaßnahmen sowie Therapieempfehlungen geben.

Die Verständigung gestaltete sich dabei in den meisten Fällen sehr unproblematisch, da fast jeder Englisch – neben Swahili die zweite Amtssprache Ugandas – spricht.

Ich habe die äußerst nette Atmosphäre in der Augenabteilung sehr genossen, ich fühlte mich während meines ganzen Aufenthaltes vom ersten Augenblick an herzlich willkommen.

Freitagnachmittag schließlich verabschiedete ich mich vom gesamten Team und versprach, wenn alles planmäßig verläuft, mit mehr Equipment wiederzukommen.

Die Zeit und meine Erfahrungen beim Operieren haben mir einige sehr hilfreiche Ideen zur Verbesserung beschert, davon konnte auch die Augenabteilung und somit auch die Patienten profitieren.

Danke Augentraining

Zusammenfassend war die Woche in Kampala zwar sehr anstrengend, mit etlichen Herausforderungen, aber auch mit vielen erfreulichen Momenten, die ich nicht missen möchte. Der Aufenthalt hat mich nicht nur beruflich, sondern auch privat bereichert. Und neue Freunde in mein Leben gebracht.

Chirurgie Training Augen