What are retinal diseases?

The retina is a multi-layered nerve tissue that lines the posterior part of the eye. In some parts of the eye the retina is closely attached to the vitreous. For this reason, diseases of the vitreous can cause diseases of the retina.

Diseases can affect the retina, which is responsible for recognizing “light and dark” as well as movements, or even the central retina (macula) which has the largest concentration of photoreceptor cells and is responsible for your near and distance visual acuity.

Retina, vitreous body eye, surgery vienna

How do you notice these diseases?

Your symptoms could be the following:

  • You have troubles with reading, blurry vision in the center of your visual field or see wavy lines (macular diseases as e.g. membrane formation, macular hole formation, macular degeneration).
  • You see a shadow, experience a deterioration of your vision or have similar symptoms (retinal diseases such as retinal detachment).
  • Visual disturbances such as flashes of light, dots, black rain or “flying mosquitoes” or floaters (indication for the development of a retinal detachment, acute symptoms of a posterior vitreous detachment).
  • Diseases of the retina are “pain-free”. Therefore, the visual quality is the main indicator for these diseases.

If you have these or similar symptoms, a careful eye examination is required to clarify the exact cause.

 

The examination of the retina

To carefully examine the posterior part of your eye, a (painless) dilation of the pupil is necessary. Therefore, please leave your car at home. Use public transportation or take a “driver” along. The pupil dilating drops will affect your ability to drive for approx. 4 hours.

An optical coherence tomography (OCT) may be worthwhile. OCT is an important diagnostic tool for early detection and monitoring of diseases of the center of the retina (macula) and the optic nerve. An OCT examination is non-contact, painless and not associated with any side effects. I can perform the OCT in my medical practice without any waiting time, which may occur in a public hospital.

Untersuchung Netzhaut OCT Augen OP

Depending on the results of the eye examination, a surgery may or may not be necessary.

In a comprehensive conversation, I will advise you about the necessity of a surgery, the details of the procedure, the expected surgical outcome and possible side effects. It is a major concern for me to address all of your questions and to explain in detail how the surgery will be performed.

 

The intravitreal drug delivery (IVT)

Should the examination of the posterior part of your eye show diseases like “exsudative” age-related macular degeneration (AMD), diabetic or vascular diseases, the treatment with intravitreal injections could be useful.

Usually these injections are performed ambulatory and under local anesthesia with eye drops. The medication is delivered into the vitreous cavity through a tiny injection cannula. I have successfully performed thousands of intravitreal drug deliveries.

After this IVT you will get moisturizing eye drops, an eye bandage for a few hours or – depending on your visual function and your preferenc – a transparent eye shield.

After an intravitreal drug delivery eye pressure checks are required (after 1 or 2 weeks) as well as an eye examination including visual acuity testing and OCT (after approx. 4 weeks).

 

Surgery of the retina

Vitrectomy is a surgical procedure suitable for treating retinal diseases. Vitrectomy works in a similar way as endoscopy. As a replacement the eye is filled with fluid.

Vitrectomy is performed under general anesthesia. Please expect to stay 2 to 4 days in the clinic. Please avoid swimming, sauna and similar activities after the operation for approx. 2 to 3 weeks, physical stress and sports for approximately 3 to 4 weeks.

For “easy” vitrectomies, I usually use very small openings and get excellent functional and anatomical results. These tiny instruments are very suitable for diseases in the center of the retina (macular diseases), like for example epiretinal membranes or macular holes.

Epiretinal membranes are thin sheets of fibrous tissue developing in the macula.

Epiretinal membranes in the macular (center of the retinal) foveal traction

Epiretinal membranes in the macular (center of the retinal)

 

Macular holes are small breaks in the macula.

Both can impair your vision, especially when you are reading. The most common symptoms include distorted vision (lines are not straight) and the deterioration of your vision.

Macular holes, before and after surgery (closed)

Macular holes, before and after surgery (closed)

In case of these macular diseases membrane peeling will be performed in addition to vitrectomy. In case of macular holes, an intraocular tamponade will be used. This is an air-gas mixture, which is used to stabilize the inside of the eye and/or for the closure of the macular hole. This mixture disappears in a few days or weeks by itself and is naturally replaced by aqueous humor produced from your eye.

For treating a retinal detachment (Ablatio retinae) either vitrectomy (with or without tamponade) or a buckle surgery (sponges or bands) will be selected as the primary surgical procedure.

Depending on the result of the examination, the retinal detachment is a more or less acute event, which can also threaten your vision. A retinal detachment can be treated only with surgery. The functional outcome (vision) and the anatomical success (retinal attachment rate) depend on the severity of the retinal detachment and the duration. Warning signs before the development of a retinal detachment can be visual disturbances such as flashes of light, spots, black rain or floaters.

When you have these symptoms, it is extremely important to have a retinal examination. You should have this examination within 1 or 2 days. After dilating the pupil with eye drops, a so-called three-mirror contact lens examination will be performed, which shows retinal changes from the center to the periphery.

Should this examination show a retinal tear (hole formation in the retina), I can quickly do a laser treatment, and thus reduces the risk of development of a retinal detachment.

This laser treatment is ambulatory. It needs approximately 10 days for developing sufficient laser spots (scars). During that time, you should avoid sports, reading and computer work.

Unfortunately, despite laser treatment a retinal detachment cannot be completely ruled out in the future. It can be caused by traction forces of the vitreous on the existing retinal tear or by newly developing retinal tears. Usually, you will notice symptoms indicating the development of a retinal detachment quite late, such as a shadow rising from below, a descending curtain or a sudden decrease in vision. For this reason I’m checking on my patients more frequently after a laser treatment.

In addition to laser therapy for treatment of retinal tears I also perform laser treatment for diabetic retinal changes or vascular diseases.

Laser therapy is also used for the treatment of capsular fibrosis (membranes developing above the intraocular lens after cataract surgery). All these laser treatments are done ambulatory and with pupil-dilating eye drops.

If you have questions about retinal diseases or operations, please contact me.

Was sind Netzhauterkrankungen?

Die Netzhaut ist ein mehrschichtiges Nervengewebe, welches den hinteren Augenabschnitt auskleidet. Sie ist an manchen Stellen eng mit dem Glaskörper verbunden. Aus diesem Grunde können Erkrankungen des Glaskörpers zu Erkrankungen der Netzhaut führen.

Erkrankungen können die Netzhaut (Retina), welche dem Erkennen von Hell-Dunkel und Bewegungen dient, betreffen oder auch die Netzhautmitte (Makula), die mit ihrer großen Sehzellendichte für Ihr scharfes Sehen in der Nähe und Ferne verantwortlich ist.

Netzhaut und Makula Auge Erklärung Funktion

Wie bemerken Sie diese Erkrankungen?

Ihre Beschwerden könnten sich folgendermaßen äußern:

• Sie haben Lesebeschwerden, sehen im Zentrum unscharf oder sehen Wellenlinien (Makulerkrankungen wie. z.B. Membranbildungen, Lochbildungen, Makuladegeneration).

• Sie sehen einen Schatten, haben eine Sehverschlechterung oder ähnliches (möglicher Hinweis auf Netzhauterkrankungen wie Netzhautabhebung).

• Sehstörungen wie Blitze, Punkte, Rußregen oder „fliegende Mücken“ (Signale für die Entstehung einer Netzhautabhebung, akute Glaskörpersymptome).

• Die Erkrankungen der Netzhaut sind “schmerzfrei”. Daher ist die Sehqualität ein erster Indikator für eine Erkrankung.

Sollten Sie solche oder ähnliche Beschwerden haben, ist eine sorgfältige Augenuntersuchung unbedingt erforderlich, um die genaue Ursache abzuklären.

Die Untersuchung der Netzhaut

Da für die Untersuchung eine (völlig schmerzfreie) Erweiterung der Pupille nötig ist, um Ihren hinteren Augenabschnitt sorgfältig zu untersuchen, lassen Sie bitte Ihr Auto zu Hause. Kommen Sie öffentlich oder nehmen Sie einen „Fahrer” mit. Die pupillenerweiternden Tropfen beeinträchtigen nämlich Ihre Fahrtüchtigkeit für ca. 4 Stunden.

Eventuell kann eine Optische Kohärenztomografie (OCT) sinnvoll sein. Das OCT ist ein wichtiges diagnostisches Tool zur Früherkennung sowie zur Verlaufskontrolle bei Erkrankungen der Netzhautmitte (Makula) und des Sehnervenkopfes (Opticus). Eine OCT-Untersuchung ist berührungslos, schmerzfrei und mit keinerlei Nebenwirkungen für Sie verbunden. Das OCT kann bei mir in der Ordination ohne die im Krankenhaus üblichen Wartezeiten durchgeführt werden.

Untersuchung Netzhaut OCT Augen OP

Je nach dem Ergebnis der durchgeführten Augenuntersuchung könnte zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt ein operativer Eingriff erforderlich sein oder nicht.

In einem ausführlichen Gespräch berate ich Sie gerne über die Notwendigkeit eines chirurgischen Eingriffes, die Art und Weise, die Erfolgsaussichten und mögliche Nebenwirkungen. Dabei ist es mir ein wichtiges Anliegen auf all Ihre Fragen einzugehen und Ihnen genau zu erklären, wie die Operation abläuft.

Die intravitreale operative Medikamentenapplikation (IVOM)

Sollte die Untersuchung Ihres hinteren Augenabschnittes Erkrankungen wie eine „feuchte“ altersbedingte Makluadegeneration (AMD), diabetische Netzhauterkrankungen oder Gefäßerkrankungen zeigen, könnte eine Behandlung mit intravitrealen Injektionen sinnvoll sein.

Diese Intravitrealen Operativen Medikamentenapplikationen (IVOM) können meist ambulant und mit örtlicher Betäubung durch Augentropfen durchgeführt werden. Mit einer winzigen Injektionskanüle wird ein Medikament in den Glaskörperraum verabreicht. Ich habe dies bei tausenden IVOMs erfolgreich durchgeführt.

Sie bekommen danach benetzende Augentropfen, für wenige Stunden einen Augenverband oder – je nach Sehleistung und Wunsch – eine durchsichtige Schale.

Erforderliche Kontrollen nach einer IVOM sind Augendruckkontrollen (nach 1 bis 2 Wochen) und Sehtests inkl. OCT (nach ca. 4 Wochen).

Die Operationen der Netzhaut

Zur Behandlung eignet sich zum Beispiel die Vitrektomie. Diese funktioniert ähnlich einer Endoskopie. Das heißt man macht winzig kleine Öffnungen in das Augeninnere und entfernt den Glaskörper. Als Ersatz hierfür wird Flüssigkeit ins Auge gefüllt.

Die Vitrektomie wird in Vollnarkose durchgeführt. Rechnen Sie bitte mit einem stationären Aufenthalt von 2 bis 4 Tagen. Schwimmen, Sauna und ähnliches sind nach der Operation für ca. 2 bis 3 Wochen, körperliche Belastungen und Sport für ca. 3 bis 4 Wochen zu meiden.

Bei einfacheren Vitrektomien verwende ich in der Regel ganz kleine Öffnungen und erziele damit hervorragende funktionelle und anatomische Ergebnisse. Sie eignen sich sehr gut für Erkrankungen der Netzhautmitte (Makulaerkrankungen), wie zum Beispiel Epiretinalen Membranen oder Makulaforamen.

Epiretinale Membranen sind unterschiedlich stark ausgeprägte Membranbildungen in der Makula.

Epiretinale Membranen in der Makula

Epiretinale Membranen in der Makula (Netzhautmitte)

Makulaforamen sind Lochbildungen in der Makula.

Beide können Ihr Sehen, vor allem beim Lesen beinträchtigen. Zu den häufigsten Symptomen zählen verzerrtes Sehen (Linien sind nicht mehr gerade) und die Abnahme Ihres Sehvermögens.

Makulaforamen, vor und nach der Operation (verschlossen)

Makulaforamen, vor und nach der Operation (verschlossen)

Bei diesen Makulaerkrankungen wird zusätzlich zur Vitrektomie auch eine Makulachirurgie vorgenommen (Membranpeeling). Bei Makulaforamen kann auch eine intraokuläre Tamponade sinnvoll sein. Dies ist ein Luft-Gas-Gemisch, welches der Stabilisierung des Augeninneren und/oder dem Verschluss des Makulaforamens dient. Dieses Gemisch löst sich in einigen Tagen bis Wochen von selbst auf und wird ganz natürlich durch die eigene Augen-Flüssigkeit, das Kammerwasser, ersetzt.

Zur Behandlung einer Netzhautabhebung (Ablatio retinae) wird entweder eine Vitrektomie (mit oder ohne Tamponade) oder eine Buckelchirurgie (Kunststoffplomben und/oder Bänder) als Primäreingriff gewählt.

Die Netzhautabhebung ist je nach Befund ein mehr oder weniger akutes Ereignis, welches auch Ihr Sehvermögen bedrohen kann. Eine Netzhautabhebung kann nur mit einer Operation behandelt werden. Das funktionelle Ergebnis (Sehvermögen) und die anatomische Heilung hängen vom Ausmaß der Netzhautabhebung und deren Dauer ab. Warnsignale vor der Entstehung einer Netzhautabhebung können Sehstörungen wie Blitze, Punkte, Rußregen oder „fliegende Mücken“ sein.

Bei diesen Symptomen ist eine Netzhautuntersuchung äußerst wichtig. Sie sollten diese innerhalb von 1 bis 2 Tagen durchführen lassen. Nach Erweitern der Pupille mit Augentropfen, wird eine sogenannte Kontaktglasuntersuchung vorgenommen, die Veränderungen vom Zentrum bis in die Peripherie aufzeigen kann.

Sollte ich bei einer solchen Untersuchung nur einen Netzhautdefekt (Lochbildung in der Netzhaut) vorfinden, kann ich diesen mittels Lasertherapie rasch wieder verschließen, und somit die Gefahr einer Netzhautabhebung reduzieren.

Diese Laserbehandlung erfolgt ambulant. Die optimale Narbenbildung nach einer Laserbehandlung stellt sich in ca. 10 Tagen ein. Währenddessen sollten Sie sich schonen, also Sport, Lesen und Computerarbeit meiden.

Trotz Laserbehandlung kann eine Netzhautabhebung leider nicht gänzlich in der Zukunft ausgeschlossen werden. Sie kann durch Zugkräfte des Glaskörpers am bestehenden Riss oder durch neu entstehende Risse verursacht werden. Meist sehen Sie selbst als Hinweis für das Entstehen einer Netzhautabhebung erst spät spezifische Symptome wie z.B. einen von unten aufsteigenden Schatten, einen sich von oben senkenden Vorhang oder Sie bemerken eine plötzliche Sehverminderung zu spät. Aus diesem Grund kontrolliere ich meine PatientInnen nach der Laserbehandlung häufiger.

Neben der Lasertherapie von Netzhautdefekten führe ich auch Laserbehandlungen von diabetischen Netzhautveränderungen oder Gefäßerkrankungen durch.

Weiters werden auch Nachstarbildungen (Membranbildungen über der Kunstlinse nach Kataraktoperationen) mittels Lasertherapie behandelt. All diese Lasereingriffe erfolgen ambulant und mit pupillenerweiternden Tropfen.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Netzhauterkrankungen oder zu den Operationen, kontaktieren Sie mich bitte.